Mae’s 31 Day Series Challenge: Day Twenty

Welcome everyone to a brand new challenge for the blog – Mae’s 31 Day Series Challenge for 2024! Similar to what I did with my gaming posts last month, this will be more of a monthly celebration of all things – well series related. Originally I was going to focus it solely on my favorite TV shows but then…I kept thinking about the shows solely on streaming services, as well as web series on platforms like YouTube – all of which I watch regularly. So I decided to combine them all in this month’s celebration 🙂 so don’t be surprised if these posts go all over the place as I talk about some of my favorites, some that may have strong impacts on me, or maybe even some coming down the pipe. Who knows! We’ll see where the night takes us haha. I’ll likely revisit the gaming challenge at some point and continue talking about even more games but for now let’s celebrate series media!

Day Twenty: Dimension 20

I’m a big fan of Dropout and the cast and crew that make their content. But I think my top show has to be Dimension 20 in all its iterations. Generally hosted by the amazing mind of Brennan Lee Mulligan, the show goes into various types of campaigns from Fantasy High, Misfits and Magic, A Court of Fey and Flowers, Neverafter, and more! It’s an actual play show where a cast comes together to play a Tabletop Role-Playing Game, with a host acting as a game master overall to keep the story going.

Now I’m a sucker for DnD and tabletop gaming in general, especially in my more recent years and having more friends that are into it and want to play. The visuals of this show, including the set design, sound design, and the effort that goes into the physical properties used to help tell the stories are absolutely phenomenal. Because these shows aren’t typically live, they put a lot of effort into production of the episodes, going into detail when it wants to focus on the mini fight scenes on the table or focus in on the individual players and game master. It almost feels like you’re at the table, sitting there with your friends focusing in on the story you’re crafting together. It’s a lot of fun!

I guarantee you there’s a campaign so far for everyone. From space odysseys, pirates, fantasy, horror, and more – the team has explored many different story types with an array of cast members. I can listen to Fantasy High over and over again and never get bored because the cast is phenomenal and makes me bust out laughing every single time. And when the serious moments are happening, these cast members ACT THEIR ASSES OFF! I’m fully invested in their characters and want them to succeed no matter what.

Some of the series are actually available on YouTube, with all of them for sure having their pilot episodes for those seasons available for folks to dip their toes into. Want to catch every single episode of Dimension 20? You can watch them on Dropout!

The full playlist of Dimension 20’s Fantasy High Season One!
The full playlist of Dimension 20’s Fantasy High Seaon Two!
A Court of Fey and Flowers is one of my favorite seasons so far of Dimension 20!
Misfits and Magic is basically Harry Potter but not written by a terrible person ^_^
A Crown of Candy made me audibly gasp quite a bit – this Candy Land adventure is actually quite dark!
Neverafter is Dimension 20’s first horror themed campaign, taking fairy tails and turning them into unspeakable horrors!
Video from user Jabletop RPG, which dives in with Brennan on how Dimension 20 came to be!

Thank you so much for reading today’s post! Sorry I couldn’t get this one out yesterday but I’m glad we could work it out today! I absolutely adore every single campaign the crew has done for this show and we’re just getting started. I can’t wait to see what’s next! Lots of love and stay safe out there!

Leave a comment