Mae’s 31 Day Series Challenge: Day One

Welcome everyone to a brand new challenge for the blog – Mae’s 31 Day Series Challenge for 2024! Similar to what I did with my gaming posts last month, this will be more of a monthly celebration of all things – well series related. Originally I was going to focus it solely on my favorite TV shows but then…I kept thinking about the shows solely on streaming services, as well as web series on platforms like YouTube – all of which I watch regularly. So I decided to combine them all in this month’s celebration 🙂 so don’t be surprised if these posts go all over the place as I talk about some of my favorites, some that may have strong impacts on me, or maybe even some coming down the pipe. Who knows! We’ll see where the night takes us haha. I’ll likely revisit the gaming challenge at some point and continue talking about even more games but for now let’s celebrate series media!

Day One: Scrubs

I figured we would start off this month with chatting about one of my all-time favorite television shows. Scrubs (mainly the first eight seasons – though I didn’t hate nine compared to others) was something that always brings a smile to my face, even in their most dramatic episodes and moments (looking at you Brendan Fraser – you’re still breaking my heart even to this day). The amazing writing and casting of this show leads you through the journey of Dr. John Dorian, or J.D. as you learn to call him. He’s got amazing friends and colleagues alongside him like Dr. Christopher Turk, Dr. Elliot Reid, Dr. Perry Cox, Dr. Bob Kelso, “The Janitor” and nurse Carla Espinosa among others.

The relationship between J.D. and Turk alone make this show fantastic though this can truly be said for most of the gang throughout the show. Zach Braff and Donald Faison are clearly great friends and know how to work well off each other, improvising some of their best moments on screen. I’m also a big fan of the gags throughout the show, from the Janitor’s many antics including his personal grudge against J.D. thanks to the penny in the door on his first day at the hospital. And let’s not forget the amazing performances by John C. McGinley as Dr. Cox – who’s entire storyline portrayed onscreen and seeing how he came to be the man he is and how he’s grown even in his time as the mentor to the younger doctors makes me so happy to see him finding his own realm of happiness towards the end of the show.

The thing about Scrubs is that yes, this show is a comedy – there isn’t an episode out there that you won’t find yourself chuckling at the jokes. But like many medical shows, they had medical advisors onboard and helped make very realistic scenarios (at least from my eyes ya’ll – I am not a doctor lol) of what was coming through Sacred Heart Hospital. There was real drama there – ranging from moments affected by the medical emergencies to just…life hitting them in the face from time to time and making them pause to take care of themselves. The writing was phenomenal in the show and another thing I commend them on is the soundtrack itself they used for each season. Excellent musical hits all the way! Also can I just say – where many shows absolutely fail with their “musical” episodes – Scrubs NAILED IT! I still hum Guy Love to this day! I think once I get through a few more shows on my queue – Imma do a rewatch ❤ There’s so many laughs, so many tears, so many smiles – I’m ready to go on that journey again!

Video user from José
Video from user Core Ideas
Video from user Nerdstalgic
Video from user Nerdstalgic
Video from user My Little Thought Tree
Video from user NicheCaesar

Thanks so much for joining me on another monthly round of posts! I would like to keep these up again if I can ^_^ they are quite fun and allow me to reminisce a little bit on some of my favorite things! I look forward to sharing more of my favorites with you! Lots of love and stay safe out there! ❤

Leave a comment