Mae’s 30 Day Video Game Challenge 2024: Day Twenty-Two

Welcome everyone to a brand new challenge for the blog – Mae’s 30 Day Video Game Challenge for 2024! Well, it’s more of a monthly celebration of all things gaming, where I gush about 30 of my top games overall instead of answering daily prompts. They can be some of my forever favorites, games that have recently piqued my interest, or even games incoming that I’m currently hyped about. I may even group some games up in categories here and there, maybe as games from the same series, or various versions of the same game, to hype them up as why I enjoy them so much. We’ll see where the night takes us haha.

Day Twenty-Two: Skullgirls

I have a special place in my heart for this game, even if I’m not the greatest at fighting games (I really like them still though haha). Skullgirls is a game that I’ve been supporting through a lot of its growth, from campaigns to buying across platforms. With fun designs for their fighters spanning a growing roster of eighteen characters with DLC still being released to this day. The animation is excellent and the setting is also pretty great, with a storyline taking place in Canopy Kingdom which is reminiscent of 1940s post-war America that is plagued with Mafia and gangs. All characters have their own storyline in a quest to find the infamous Skull Heart, an artifact that can grant wishes for women. However, if someone wishes on the Skull Heart who has an impure soul, they will be transformed into a monster known as a “Skullgirl” – trapped in that state seemingly forever. So as you can guess, most of the released roster has been women so far; though we do have some boys in there too. Beowulf and Big Band are my babies and I protect them forever!

Sure, this game isn’t perfect. It also has its fair share of controversy over its many years available (which I don’t feel like talking on so recommend you research if you’re interested in those topics). However, I do like the fact that despite everything, the team working the game has been doing what they can to bring in new content even to this day. What is the future of this game? Well, I’m not sure. But from the campaigns where characters were decided to fill the roster – there were MANY MORE that could someday see the light of day in the game. So it’ll be exciting to see what’s next.

Thanks so much for reading this relatively shorter post today! We may be doing a Skullgirls tournament this weekend for my friend Mark’s stream so if we do, recommend you check out his stream at https://www.twitch.tv/wolf_like_man. Also, I’ve planned out the rest of the posts for this month so I know which games for sure I’m going to talk about and when 🙂 so stay tuned! Lots of love and stay safe out there!

Leave a comment