Mae’s 31 Day Series Challenge: Day Eighteen

Welcome everyone to a brand new challenge for the blog – Mae’s 31 Day Series Challenge for 2024! Similar to what I did with my gaming posts last month, this will be more of a monthly celebration of all things – well series related. Originally I was going to focus it solely on my favorite TV shows but then…I kept thinking about the shows solely on streaming services, as well as web series on platforms like YouTube – all of which I watch regularly. So I decided to combine them all in this month’s celebration 🙂 so don’t be surprised if these posts go all over the place as I talk about some of my favorites, some that may have strong impacts on me, or maybe even some coming down the pipe. Who knows! We’ll see where the night takes us haha. I’ll likely revisit the gaming challenge at some point and continue talking about even more games but for now let’s celebrate series media!

Day Eighteen: The West Wing

In high school, one of our history teachers gave us extra credit to come to a viewing party at school after hours and watch this political drama called The West Wing – and before that time, this show was 100 percent not on my radar AT ALL! Political shows weren’t really my vibe (still technically aren’t) – but ya girl is an overachiever so I was down to basically have the equivalent of the TV cart day and just having to watch a movie to get a good score for the day. We watched a couple episodes of the first season…and I couldn’t help myself. I was hooked on the show for the brief couple of hours we watched at the viewing party. After the viewing party was over, my classmate joked on me because I went up to the teacher and meekly asked if I could borrow the first season DVD from her. Without hesitation, she handed it over with a smile and that weekend I breezed through that first season and audibly gasped at the season finale and knew I needed more.

I’m pretty sure The West Wing was the first show I had the complete collection for – beating out Scrubs in that regard. It’s in a gorgeous presidential boxset – and each season is set up as files with extra bits about what goes on that season. It’s a lot of fun. Thanks to my parents for grabbing me it while grabbing my sister Friends lol. They called that one pretty well haha.

But I guess what I really liked about the show in particular was the cast and the writing. I found the writing incredibly smart but not afraid to be witty and downright hilarious. Even the jokes at the expense of politics, I was onboard. Also, I saw C.J. Cregg in action, played beautifully by Allison Janney, a true badass in the acting world and one of my favorite actresses. Seeing her dominate in the Press Room – I think it triggered me to seek out a path in news and media and finding a career for myself beyond school. I thoroughly enjoyed how this team worked together to service the country – overcoming even the most basic obstacles such as writer’s block to coming up with the best course of action for the country in a battle scenario that could lead to war. It was an interesting perspective to say the least with clever writing to boot – and also made me appreciate not being in such roles of power because I don’t think I would have been able to make those tough calls.

Currently The West Wing is on Max and I’ve been binging the series again while I’ve been working out at home. I recently got into Season Two and that first season finale and the two-part season return of one and two still make me gasp. If the show hadn’t already hooked me before, those episodes would have ensnared me and never let me go.

Video from user Joshua Hathaway
Video from user Film Flux

Thanks for reading today’s post! I think after that I will rewatch Scrubs for lots of giggles…that is, unless another show hooks me in to rewatch first that I will be talking about in the coming days 😉 you’ll know when we get there hahaha. Lots of love and stay safe out there!

Leave a comment